Eve Ensler’s Loving Words of Wisdom and Passion

If you are not familiar with Eve Ensler, she is the marvelous creator of the Vagina Monologues and V-Day:  http://www.vday.org/home

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eve_Ensler

Embrace Your Inner Girl

http://www.ted.com/talks/eve_ensler_embrace_your_inner_girl.html

I think the whole world has essentially been brought up not to be a girl. How do we bring up boys? What does it mean to be a boy? To be a boy really means not to be a girl. To be a man means not to be a girl. To be a woman means not to be a girl. To be strong means not to be a girl. To be a leader means not to be a girl. I actually think that being a girl is so powerful that we’ve had to train everyone not to be that. (Laughter)”

“I am an emotional creature. I love that I do not take things lightly. Everything is intense to me, the way I walk in the street, the way my momma wakes me up, the way it’s unbearable when I lose, the way I hear bad news.

I am an emotional creature. I am connected to everything and every one. I was born like that. Don’t you say all negative that it’s only only a teenage thing, or it’s only because I’m a girl. These feelings make me better. They make me present. They make me ready. They make me strong.

I am an emotional creature. There is a particular way of knowing, It’s like the older women somehow forgot. I rejoice that it’s still in my body. Oh, I know when the coconut is about to fall. I know we have pushed the Earth too far. I know my father isn’t coming back, and that no one is prepared for the fire. I know that lipstick means more than show, and boys are super insecure, and so-called terrorists are made, not born. I know that one kiss could take away all my decision making ability. (Laughter) And you know what? Sometimes it should. This is not extreme. It’s a girl thing, what we would all be if the big door inside us flew open.

Don’t tell me not to cry, to calm it down, not to be so extreme, to be reasonable. I am an emotional creature. It’s how the earth got made, how the wind continues to pollinate. You don’t tell the Atlantic Ocean to behave. I am an emotional creature. Why would you want to shut me down or turn me off? I am your remaining memory. I can take you back. Nothing has been diluted. Nothing’s leaked out. I love, hear me, I love that I can feel the feelings inside you, even if they stop my life, even if they break my heart, even if they take me off track, they make me responsible.

I am an emotional, I am an emotional incondotional, devotional creature. And I love, hear me, I love love love being a girl. Can you say it with me? I love, I love, love, love being a girl!”

Happiness in Body and Soul:

http://www.ted.com/talks/eve_ensler_on_happiness_in_body_and_soul.html

And it hit me in that moment that it had taken 47 years, but that Mr. Alligator had finally shown up. And he’d show up obviously in a form that it took me a long time to understand, which is that when we give in the world what we want the most, we heal the broken part inside each of us. And I feel in the last eight years that this journey, this miraculous vagina journey, has taught me this really simple thing, which is that happiness exists in action, it exists in telling the truth and saying what your truth is, and it exists in giving away what you want the most. And I feel that knowledge and that journey has been an extraordinary privilege, and I feel really blessed to have been here today to communicate that to you. Thank you very much.”

One thought on “Eve Ensler’s Loving Words of Wisdom and Passion

  1. Great post. You know, so many of her words spoke to me, but when she suggests to “give away what you want the most.” It completely changed the way I do philanthropy & politics. For so long, I did my work trying to “help people” or “save people”, but after truly asking myself this question my worked changed entirely. I no longer think most people need saving at all, but an opportunity to use their strengths, tell their story, and feel as if their work as an impact or meaning. Congrats on the new blog. I look forward to following your journey. love.

Leave a Reply

